Ngā hihi o Matariki 2022 Business & Trade Digital Series starts tomorrow and you are invited to join NZTE Director of Trade in Taiwan, Tina Wilson (Ngāti Tukorehe, Ngāti Raukawa, Muaupoko, Rangitane ki te Wairau, Ngāti Rarua Atiawa, Ngāi Tahu) for the inaugural event.

Hear from a fascinating line up of Māori and indigenous Taiwanese businesses and take advantage of the opportunities to meet virtually, share ideas, and learn from each other.

As Matariki rises in Aotearoa, signalling the Māori New Year, it is a time to reflect on the past, come together and plan for the future.

Ngā Hihi o Matariki is about bringing together Māori and indigenous Taiwanese businesses to connect and explore new opportunities for collaboration and innovation.

Māori and indigenous Taiwanese have a deep connection – 5000 years of whakapapa – genealogical connections and history.  The Pacific ocean was our highway then and is still today.

As part of this new digital series, New Zealand Trade Development Centre (NZTE), in partnerships with the Council of Indigenous People of Taiwan, will explore four themes:

  • Culture and Community
  • Community and Conservation
  • Commerce and Culture
  • E-Commerce and Community

Each session will have a keynote speaker, case studies from both Māori and indigenous Taiwanese businesses and live panel discussions.

This series presents a unique opportunity to learn more about the relevant business opportunities and challenges between our two nations.

Please register for the session you are interested in using the links below:

14 July NZ Time 1.30pm – 3pm | Taiwan Time 9.30am – 11am

14 July NZ Time 3.30pm – 5pm | Taiwan Time 11.30am – 1pm

15 July NZ Time 1.30pm – 3pm | Taiwan Time 9.30am – 11am

15 July NZ Time 3.30pm – 5pm | Taiwan Time 11.30am – 1pm